Northern Lights’ 88th Annual Meeting & Barbecue

By Elissa Glassman

NLI Board Member Kennon McClintock awards one of NLI’s scholarship winners, Madelyn Williamson with her education scholarship certificate. Photos by Elissa Glassman

On April 3, Northern Lights Inc. hosted the 88th annual meeting and barbecue at its Sagle headquarters. More than 300 people attended, with 196 registered members.

Before the meeting, guests enjoyed Wood’s Smokies, chocolate chip cookies and coffee, and received complimentary gift bags.

Members visited with NLI Board President Steve Elgar, other board directors and General Manager Annie Terracciano.

Members were in awe of the life-size electrical display, which was built and demonstrated by NLI lineworkers.

Annual meeting attendees listened to a rendition of the national anthem, sung by Sarah Kugle, and were entertained by a performance of “Unforgettable” by Dakota Matteson. Both performers are with the Sandpoint High School choir.

During the meeting, Steve addressed the members and Annie shared NLI’s many accomplishments and goals.

The purpose of the meeting was to hear and pass upon reports covering the previous fiscal year; elect a director for District 7; and transact such other business that came before the meeting.

Only 1 candidate, Mike Dolan, was nominated for District 1. Only one candidate, Kennon McClintock, was nominated for District 5. Pursuant to NLI Bylaws Section 4.04(d), no elections were held in those districts. NLI congratulates Jim Woodward, who was reelected for his fourth term as the District 7 board director.

This year, NLI awarded 8 educational scholarships and 3 lineworker scholarships. Kennon presented certificates to those in attendance.

The winners of the educational scholarships are:

  • Luke Butler, Priest River
  • Kelsey Cessna, Cocolalla
  • Erika Edmundson, Sandpoint
  • Lance Hendricks, Sagle
  • Addison Kingery, Priest River
  • Colin Roos, Sandpoint
  • Hayden Stockton, Priest River
  • Madelyn Williamson, Priest River

The winners of the NLI lineworker scholarships are:

  • Brycen Cowin, Moyie Springs
  • Paxton Fisher, Troy
  • Maddox Kurtz, Sandpoint

Congratulations to the scholarship winners.