An Annual Meeting Like No Other

Members attended NLI’s first virtual annual meeting in May

By Elissa Glassman

Northern Lights Inc. General Manager Annie Terracciano addresses members during the May annual meeting. Photo by Corner Booth Media

Northern Lights, Inc.’s (NLI’s) first virtual annual membership meeting was Wednesday, May 12, celebrating 86 years of dedicated service to its members.

NLI has served its members since 1935. It was organized to bring electricity to rural areas where investor-owned utilities would not serve. It was established as Northern Idaho Rural Electric Rehabilitation and was the first rural electric cooperative west of the Mississippi. Today, it is one of the largest cooperatives in Idaho, with more than 20,000 members.

The virtual annual meeting was called to order by NLI Board President Dr. Steve Elgar, followed by an invocation by NLI Line Superintendent Mike Thompson. The Pledge of Allegiance was led by a group of NLI linemen. The purpose of the meeting was to hear reports covering the previous fiscal year and to elect directors for District 2 and District 4.

Incumbents Jill Vandegrift, director of District 2, and David Pemberton, director of District 4, were re-elected.

District 2 covers the area East of Thompson Falls/West to Idaho/ Montana border. District 4 covers the Careywood/Athol area.

NLI board members, staff, and guests were introduced. The determination of a quorum was confirmed by NLI’s attorney, as well as, the reading of the meeting notice, proof of mailing, and last year’s minutes.

NLI General Manager Annie Terracciano presented the annual meeting message. The NLI auditor provided a report. Dr. Elgar addressed the members with the President’s Report and announced this year’s Educational/Vocational/Lineworker Scholarship Winners:

  • Robert Anselmo, Priest River
  • Faith Frields, Thompson Falls
  • Kianna Higgins, Bonners Ferry
  • Jessica Klein, Sagle
  • Halie Moore, Laclede
  • Josey Neesvig, Trout Creek
  • Victoria Rae, Naples
  • Madelynn Rusho, Priest River
  • Sage Saccomanno, Sandpoint
  • Daniel Walker, Bonners Ferry

Congratulations to the scholarship winners.